make it work

20130725-064148.jpg

This is the top of the button placket for a blouse that I’m currently working on for my sewing class. (Butterick 6085 for inquiring minds). I was scrambling a little bit to get prepped for the next class when I realized the leftover pieces of interfacing I had around were not quite long enough to scale the entire placket. But I did have enough if I pieced the it together…

While I was trying to “make it work”, just like we’re supposed to, I have a feeling that Tim Gunn would actually have told me something like “Go to the fabric store and buy the amount of interfacing that you need, you lazy bum”. Ouch, Tim. No need to get personal.

Name calling aside, this is a casual blouse, and it’s technically my muslin, so I feel pretty comfortable with my fix. And I really like that this is a less wasteful approach. Unlike knitting, sewing creates quite a bit of waste, and I’m still not sure what to do with my scraps. What do you do with you scraps?

I’m curious to know what the downsides are to piecing together your interfacing. Clearly it’s not as strong, but is there another reason why this wouldn’t be a perfectly reasonable way to interface fabric in certain situations. Have you ever refused to go to the fabric store for more interfacing? How did it turn out?

2 thoughts on “make it work

  1. Hehem that is something I used to do all the time when I was much younger, and you know what? there was never a single problem with any garment that had it! But I haven’t done it in a while…

Leave a Reply

